Warren E. Shull Award

Each year, the National Association of Student Councils (NASC) presents two National Adviser of the Year Awards - Middle Level and High School - in honor of Warren E. Shull, who founded the National Association of Student Councils in 1931. He recognized that leadership is service and many student council advisers across the nation are also guided by the same principles of Warren E. Shull. While the award does single out individuals on the state, regional and national level, the purpose of the award is to highlight the many contributions made by all student council advisers throughout the country.

The 2017 Regional and National Warren E. Shull Adviser of the Year Awards were presented during the NASC National Conference at Pinkerton Academy in Derry, New Hampshire. We salute the national Shull Award winners of this and past years.

High School - Chad Rizner
Jefferson City HS (Missouri

CLICK HERE to visit the NASC website and learn more abourt Chad Rizner.

Middle Level - Penelope Allen
Lafayette MS (Mississippi)

CLICK HERE to visit the NASC website and learn more about Penelope Allen.

Past National winners of the Warren E. Shull Adviser of the Year Award:

2017 Chad Rizner, Missouri (HS) Penelope Allen, Mississippi (ML)
2016 Martha Goza, Louisiana (HS) Daniel Bailey, South Carolina (ML)
2015 Linda Pickett, Illinois (HS) Jackie Jaros, Pennsylvania (ML)
2014 Patsy Coleman, Louisiana (HS) James Kramer, Wisconsin (ML)
2013 Kyle Gordon*, Illinois (HS) Cathy Helfrich, Missouri (ML)
2012 Janet Young, Iowa (HS) Mike Iles, Louisiana (ML)
2011 Paul Branagan*, Massachusetts (HS) Cheryl McIlrath, Indiana (ML)
2010 Patricia Finch, Texas (HS) Lou Miller*, New Jersey (ML)
2009 Kathy Ann Coll*, Pennsylvania (HS) Kris Thomasson, North Carolina (ML)
2008 Mary Whittenberg, Texas (HS) Williams Crew, North Carolina (ML)
2007 Beth David*, Louisiana (HS) Suzanna Krzaczek, California (ML)
2006 Susan McDaniel, Iowa (HS) Debra Bush, Mississippi (ML)
2005 Marquita Thomas*, Tennessee (HS) Sandra Bullock, North Carolina (ML)
2004 Don Shaffer, California  
2003 Andy Costanzo, Pennsylvania  
2002 Patty Hupfer-Riedel, Wisconsin  
2001 Jim Finnemeyer*, Pennsylvania  
2000 T.C. Hardesty*, Oklahoma  
1999 Bobbie Evans, Kansas  
1998 Al Cormier, Connecticut  
1997 Denise Vaniadis, Oklahoma  
1996 Alden Esping, California  
1995 Richard Gregg*, Delaware  
1994 Roger Chambers, Wisconsin  
1993 Ardith Kurchey, New York  
1992 Dennis Lordan, Massachusetts  
1991 David Cordts, North Carolina  
1990 Maris Aldrich*, Montana  
1989 Kay Baker, Texas  

(* indicates member of NASSCED at time of award)


The NASSCED Mobile App... now we're everywhere!
Get the QR Code...


NASSCED Facebook group to collaborate and share!
Go there...


National Student Council
(a program of NASSP)
Go there...


2018 NASC National Conference
Wayzata High School
Plymouth, Minnesota
Go there...


National Associaton of Workshop Directors (NAWD) Go there...